Eastover is one of 46 electoral wards within the larger electoral district of Sedgemoor and West Somerset, and currently represented by three Labour Councillors – Click here . Dave Loveridge represents Eastover on both the Town and District Councils. Dave also represents the area of Eastover and Sydenham as a County Councillor. Chelsea Chadwick is the other Labour councillor for Eastover on District and Tony Heywood is the other  Labour Eastover councillor on Bridgwater Town Council.

Eastover Labour councillors Tony Heywood, Chelsea Chadwick and Dave Loveridge

Eastover ward was created in 2011. It is the area on the east side of the river, its ‘gateway’ the historic town bridge that takes pedestrians from the west side of the town (Westover) into Eastover. Until the 19th century the town bridge was the only bridging point over the tidal River Parrett in this part of Somerset! The Eastover area of Bridgwater within the town centre boundary is often referred to as the ‘Eastover Triangle’.

Old Iron Bridge

Eastover encompasses key transport, retail and business outlets, including the main bus and railway stations, and major retail outlets such as Asda, Sainsbury’s Aldi and the Bridgwater Retail Park.

How do I know if I’m part of the Eastover ward?

The following streets are within the Eastover ward:

Albion Road, Bailey Street, Bath Road, Bristol Road, Cannon Close, Canon Court, East Quay (Castlefield Cottages), Coral Court, Cornborough Place, Devonshire Street, Edward Street, Kimberley Terrace, Lower Bath Road, Mariners Court and Mariners Close, Melbourne Square, Monmouth Street, Polden Court and Polden Street, Quantock Terrace, Rosebery Avenue, St John Street, Union Street, Wellington Road, Winford Terrace Bath Road), Wylds Cottages (Bath Road).